Print

These are the fasting guidelines as observed by the Patriarchate of Antioch.  All fasting in the parish is done under the supervision of the Pastor. Any questions about the Orthodox fasting discipline or its application in individual situations should be directed to the pastor.

The Fasting Seasons

On the fast days mentioned above Orthodox Christians abstain from all meat, meat products, dairy products, fish, olive oil and alcoholic beverages. Shellfish is traditionally permitted. We also moderate the amount of food we consume on these days.  Please remember that all fasting in under the direction of the Pastor. In certain circumstances he may relax the traditional fast at his discretion.

Special Seasons of Fasting

During these two fast periods Wednesdays and Fridays are strict fast days as usual. On other days of the week, we abstain from meat, meat products and dairy products; but fish, wine and olive oil are permitted. Eggs are not permitted on any days. During the final weeks of the Nativity fast, Dec. 13 – 24, the fast is stricter and no fish is permitted. Olive oil and wine are permitted on Saturday and Sunday only.
 
 
We abstain from all meat, meat products, dairy products, fish, olive oil, wine and eggs. Shellfish may be eaten. Olive oil and wine are permitted on Saturday and Sunday, only. On the Feast of the Transfiguration, Aug. 6, fish, olive oil and wine are permitted. If the Feast of the Dormition falls on a Wednesday or a Friday we may use fish, wine and oil on that Feast also, but not meat, dairy products or eggs.
 

The Great Fast

The Great Fast (Great Lent) is from sundown on Cheese Fare Sunday through Great Holy Saturday.